New Job and Random Thoughts

I  have been pretty sporadic in my postings of late and I failed to inform my readers that I no longer work at the grocery store; in fact I have not for some time.
I would like to say I have moved on to more lofty pursuits, but actually I am working for the same low pay in another dead end.

My new job is delivering food trays to patients at our local hospital and although the pay rate has not increased for me, the atmosphere is much better.

The grocery was okay if you enjoy working with managers who talk like kindergarteners, gossip to employees about other employees, and if you like working with other drones e.g. burnt-out and unmotivated employees.

If you enjoy a shopping experience that resembles a badly organized circus with the head clowns on acid, then I highly recommend that you shop there.

My new job is kind of momentous and I often work by myself as I deliver food trays and then turn around and pick up the dirty trays.
This leaves me time to think. Thinking can be good, but inside the strange and wacky world I call my mind, it can be down right absurd.

After a few days of working on my own, I discovered that the wheels on the metal cart, that I use to deliver the trays ,sounds pretty darn close to the wooden cart wheels as they roll along gathering the dead in that famous 1970’s movie with the Monty Python troop.

I began to think it may be funny to call out, as I am picking up the dirty trays, in a very bad British accent, of course, “Bring out your dead.”
But, then reflecting this was a hospital, I decided that this was probably not the best idea I ever had.

Sometimes, something very silly can trigger a weird thought while at work. I blame Bugs Bunny cartoons. Below is a clip, its relevance will be explained below:


Someone ordered mashed potatoes. So what, you are probably thinking, if so congratulations you are sane.
The cook forgot the gravy. So what, you are probably thinking again.
If so, watch the clip again.

It took all my willpower not to deliver it with a smirk declaring, “This time we didn’t forget the gravy.”

So, do you have random thoughts at work? Did you remember the gravy?

Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

6 thoughts on “New Job and Random Thoughts

  1. My uncle has delivered food trays in the hospital for over thirty years now. He loves it. He gets to interact with patients and hospital staff alike. I’m sure they love him. But, you’re right, you might want to avoid the “Bring out your dead” line. 😉

  2. Perhaps better that you hear the wheels of a corpse-wagon than a tumbril. At least you needn’t feel complicit hauling away the dead. (That’s doctorate-level optimism, there.)

  3. Congrats on a new start!

    I dunno, but if I’m honest, I’d rather pay to see a circus where all the head clowns were on acid! Love the “Bring out your dead” idea. And if you could get a few scary clowns on acid to run in front of you as you yell this, all the better!

    1. Thank you. I guess there is a certain merit paying to see a real circus full of head clowns on acid,but it is a slow economy so the grocery store is as close as some people will ever get. I am not sure how to smuggle all those clowns into the hospital, otherwise it it a great plan.

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

