Posted in Guest posts, Not so insane musings.

WHAT GRAND-MOM WAS TODAY

 

Welcome sign for business, public relations, social events and public occasions. - stock photo

I asked for guest posts and I got what I asked for.

The invitation was answered by a friend  brave enough to be the first “official” guest blogger. She has a granddaughter she is raising and offers a humorous. look at what it is like trying to fulfill that role.

So, take it away Marilyn:

Wow, an opportunity to post on Rachael’s Blog, I accept the challenge, are you ready for this everyone? Well keep reading any way!!

A picture of a young depressed woman tearing out her hair over white background - stock photo

Trying to entertain a 3-year-old at my age is becoming not only a challenge, but absolutely silly sometimes! There are days I want to pull my hair out, or run away from home! But alas, I cannot do this. I have a beautiful grandchild that keeps me so busy and very much entertained I thought I would share a day in the life of WHAT GRANDMA WAS TODAY…..

Woken out of a dead sleep at 7 am is NOT my idea of fun!

I dragged myself up to find this child feeding herself breakfast, aka, a “brownie” or a cupcake! When I asked the child where she got it, she said it was in her room. OK, brownies in your room, hum.

Still not awake I let it slide……

Small girl with chocolate smeared all over her face and fingers. - stock photo

On to the next activity. So far I have worn a Burger King crown, while watching “wed widing hood” skip in and out of the room with her basket, scared away the big bad wolf, by way of the bathroom window, captured a huge creature in my bathtub with some toilet paper, and gave it a burial at sea, via the flush feature.

I have helped to create a masterpiece work of art using only my fingers and a touch screen tablet, added virtual stickers such as little chickens, stars, hearts, suns, and the color pink. (all while pretending I had my eyes closed because it was supposed to be a surprise!)
Enter the noise maker of the week. A toy guitar, which is so annoying and loud I had to pretend it was broken and hide it under the bed. I was the audience for a show last night, which started with this 3-year-old, wearing pink sparkle sunglasses, a tutu, and a headband around her waist, clearing her throat and asking “are you ready to rock and roll?”!

little blond girl playing electric guitar hardcore - stock photo

*crickets*

That sound was me leaving my laptop to chase after said child who just looked at me and said she was driving her car, also known as her toy shopping cart.

Bring on the questions!! Why are you doing that? Why?

Crayons are not lipstick.
Walls are not paper.
Potty’s are not always for well, pottying.

Step stools are stages for performing.
The toy chair for the castle is too small for anyone to use as seat.
Grandma is too heavy to be pushed in a stroller.
Because I just hugged you five times two minutes ago.
No, mountains can’t talk, there is no boogie man, we already chased him away, not he’s not in the closet, or under the bed.

hiding from closet monster (search the word nikos for more) - stock photo

 

Since I am starting to ramble, I will end it with this…..

If you want something to eat, you go to the Happy meal store.
If you need pink toilet paper, you buy it at the pink toilet paper store.
If you need a tiara you buy it at the tiara store.

If you need to get any sleep, you better do it between 12 am and 6 am because after that, forget all about doing anything, but entertaining a precious little child who has not a care in the world, and loves me unconditionally!

If you enjoyed this as much as I did give Marilyn some love in the comments below. I think she should write a blog: The Adventure’s of Grandma”

Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

8 thoughts on “WHAT GRAND-MOM WAS TODAY

  1. Lmbooooo!! LOVED THE VISUALS!!! U should write a book!!! Or a children’s series!!!!! =). Sent to all of my friends via PM!!!!

  2. Oh Thank you Rachael for posting it, I have to say , after reading it here, it doesn’t look half bad! Thanks for adding the pics, perfect! Thank you so much!

      1. It was my pleasure to share this with you, thanks again my dear friend for posting it, lots of love!!
        M

  3. LOL, Rachael, just wanted you to know, the one person, besides you that commented on this, I think it’s my own cousin!! I didn’t realize it for awhile, I say I like your posts much better, so when is the next one coming up?? 🙂
    M

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

