These Hands.

It has been awhile since I have done any fiction. Why today? Why not?

It is done in the 5-sentence fiction style.  I hope you like it.

These Hands

Aging process - very old senior woman hands wrinkled skin - stock photo

These hands have had a lot of practice loving those within their care; helping those who were in need.

Now, these hands don’t work like they use to; they often feel a different kind of pain, then when they were young and useful.

Seems like yesterday they were packing kids lunches, smoothing a loved one’s hair, holding the hands of someone in pain, and giving of themselves in a practical way.

Seems like yesterday that they felt the heat of a passionate love, that they had held a new-born babe, and that they had wiped away many a tear.

Now, these hands are mostly still, slowed down by arthritis and old age; isn’t it ironic that these loving hand should end up alone and forgotten?

Do you know an elderly person who could use a friend? They have given so much, I think it is a shame when they are forgotten. 

Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

4 thoughts on “These Hands.

  1. “These Hands” wonderful post. How close to my own heart, I am entering the world of those who some day may be forgotten, or I thought I was, until sudden changes seemed to turn back time and give my hands a second try at doing all the things that young hands do. I am still wiping away tears, caring for a young one, loving them and holding them, and doing all the things I did when I was very young myself. I do not feel old any more, I have come to realize I am still here because my task in this world is much more than I ever expected, a new journey has started, and I hope for all of those who once cared for someone with their own hands, has someone who loves them enough to help care for them!

    M

    1. I am so happy you have found peace in this, you are a wonderful person, don’t forget that. I am glad you liked the post. (Big Hug)

  2. It’s too bad we don’t revere our elderly like some cultures do. Instead, we tend to render them invisible. A shame when you consider how much wisdom and experience they hold.

    1. Yes ,and I know we all get busy, I am as guilty as the next one. It is sad our society thinks of them as having nothing left to give…if only we’d listen.

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

