Posted in Not so insane musings.

Countdown to Stuffing our Faces and Something About Being Grateful.

Image of roasted turkey on holiday table and family on background - stock photo

It is the Monday before Thanksgiving, that National American Holiday of pigging out and oh, yeah,  something about being thankful.

A fresh pumpkin pie, a Thanksgiving or holiday treat - stock photo

I am making the pies today, pumpkin. coconut custard, and apple.

Portrait of a beautiful red-haired woman holding a cup of coffee on a white background - stock photo

Tuesday: I get to relax.

Fresh red ripe cranberries. Most cranberries are processed into products such as juice, sauce, jam, and sweetened dried cranberries, with the remainder sold fresh to consumers. - stock photo

Wednesday: I’ll make the cranberry relish, the oranges in  syrup, put the green bean casserole together, and  then I’ll make the stuffing.

Garnished roasted turkey on fall festival decorated table with horn of plenty and red wine - stock photo

Thursday: the morning of the feast begins. I will throw the bird in the oven to roast.  I will be peeling potatoes for mashed potatoes. I’ll make the gravy. I’ll be making cornbread. I’ll throw the casseroles and stuffing in the stove to reheat. And then, we will in the immortal words of Dr.Seuss: “…we will feast, feast, feast!”

It is a lot of work, but I love it. Nothing is better than food, friends, and family! Unless it is that thing about being Thankful.

An elementary-aged Pilgrim girl sitting on an old log with her eyes closed and hands folded in prayer.  On a white background. - stock photo

What are the reasons you are thankful? What is on your table this year?

Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

10 thoughts on “Countdown to Stuffing our Faces and Something About Being Grateful.

  1. My husband has to work this Thanksgiving, so I won’t be cooking. We’re going out to a Thanksgiving buffet instead. Much less work for me but no good leftovers either. 😦

    Have a great Thanksgiving!

    1. We did that once or twice. I like the cooking and my daughter is helping so that is nice, 🙂
      You have a great Thanksgiving, too!

  2. You put me to shame, I have not put that much effect into a Thanksgiving dinner since……well never!! Did I hear something about coconut pie??? Now I am hungry, and exhausted from reading all the work you are going to be doing, your family is blessed to have you!

      1. I really hope your Thanksgiving dinner comes out GREAT! and I wanted you to know, I miss you so much!! Blessings to you and your family!

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

