The Edge.

It being Friday and me having nothing. I have used another prompt from the excellent Lillie McFerrin Writes.

The prompt was “The Edge”  It can only be five sentences and it has to be fiction.

Hiker sits on edge of cliff overlooking water - stock photo

Here he was sitting on the edge not sure what to do, not sure what direction to go in.

He came to the edge before and just like then, he was not sure how to proceed, not sure how to end the madness.

It would be so easy, he thought, to just step off, just step off the edge of the cliff, just end it now, once and for all.

He looked up it was dark now, too late for making plans, so he felt his way back  from the edge of the cliff  and laid his head on a rock.

He would wait until sunrise to make his final decision.

(I feel kinda dorky, adding a disclaimer here, but I want it known I do not advocate suicide. I was attempting to write from the perspective of this “character”.)

Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

10 thoughts on “The Edge.

  1. You’re not dorky at all. Too many people take suicide lightly, unless it’s happened to someone they know and love, and you captured his feelings very well in those five short sentences. Who knows? Maybe, by morning, things will look better, and he will make the right choice. That’s my prayer anyway. God bless you!

    Cheryl

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

