Posted in Not so insane musings.

Second Childhood.

Angry girl Stock Photo - 12481315

Today’s daily prompt didn’t impress me: When was the first time you really felt like a grown up (if ever)?

(“Who the hell are you?”-I think I just heard one of the WP people say.)

If I answered this thing truthfully, I would have to say until my 40th birthday, I felt a little too much like a grown up.

I was a weird kid, what can I say?  I read the dictionary and  Charles Dickens.

I liked big words and Reader’s Digest.

I was the kid you didn’t have to bribe to watch PBS.

I was also uptight and opinionated and not above telling the grown-ups their mistakes, which didn’t go over so well.

Music was the one place were I was in tune, at least in my teen years, with the more  “normal” crowd.  I danced to Micheal Jackson’ s  “Thriller” and sang  “Shout” by Tears for Fears with real conviction.  Those times I felt like the kid I was.

But, then I grew-up and started to act like it. I raised a family and lost my youth.

But, one day I got sick of being so prudish and uptight and said,  “I’m getting a little tired of being so prudish and uptight.”

And, so I reverted back and let me tell you I am enjoying this second childhood a lot more than I did the first!

So when did you feel like a true grown-up? Or like me are you in your second childhood?

Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

20 thoughts on “Second Childhood.

      1. Isn’t it funny though how we never really think of ourselves as being a grown up, and then all of a sudden it dawns on us that, yep, we’re a grown up.

      2. How is that a good thing? My sons says things like she/he is old like you. Great ego booster.

    1. “21? Heck you are still a kid!”, I said in my most patronizingly motherly voice!
      I will laugh at Daffy Duck until I can no longer laugh.

    1. Being a kid can be fun, but I suppose feeling like a kid could be intimidating as well. I feel young at heart, but I can feel intimidated when my older sisters are being serious with me, which fortunately for me isn’t very often.

  1. I think I was born an adult, always the responsible one who took care of things, now that we have our Grand baby I fall right into childhood when he is around, not sure if this would be called my first or second but I like it 🙂

  2. I’m in my 4th childhood now. Or is it my 5th?

    I still feel like I’m 12, most days. Seriously. And yet, I am a g-g-g-g-g-great grandmother. Yikes. He’s a cutie, tho, so I don’t really mind.

    I’m trying to learn dub step, how’s that for never growing up? 😉

    1. Growing up is over-rated! Being a grandma or a great grandma is a good thing. I was aunt at 8 months old and a great aunt at 18. Big families it happens.

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

