Recycled Chocolate and Discount Flowers.

roses

I admit being the hopeless romantic kind, I always expect romance on Valentine’s Day. Usually, however my plans are thwarted by the fact my husband has to work that day. Being in the healthcare field and the fact that he works the afternoon shift, romance is generally aimed at, but often missed.

I  always get a card, usually a mushy one, which is sweet. Sometimes ,he even remember to put my name on the envelope before handing it to me. And hurrah this year, he remembered!

Chocolate bar in foil isolated on white background Stock Photo - 13160715

Once he brought me a chocolate bar home from work, one he got from a co-worker, ah… thanks recycled chocolate, but heck it was chocolate. Still tasted good.

I cannot say he has never brought me flowers, but it usually after I have pouted and whined about not getting flowers.  They are often discounted flowers from Kroger,  and that wouldn’t be bad if he took the big orange and yellow discount tag off first.  I don’t really need to know he is only willing to pay half price,do I? But, the fact he puts up with the pouting and whining is a big point in his favor.

Life cannot be an endless romance and everyday he  is content to stay with me shows that he truly loves me. The times when he does say things like, “Boy, you have gorgeous eyes.” are more than just sweet, because I know he means it.

So, all in all, I’ll take the card with no name, the discount flowers, the recycled chocolate, and my very average guy that gave them to me.

So are you romantic or pragmatic? Do you long for chocolate and flowers or would you rather have a sincere complement?

Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

12 thoughts on “Recycled Chocolate and Discount Flowers.

    1. I’m just the silly girly type, I’m afraid. But, my hubby is a keeper, he puts up with me! 🙂 I wish I was more pragmatic at times…*sigh*

  1. I like whatever gestures I get, doesn’t matter if it’s flowers or not, but I do like chocolate. We usually make each other a card or something. One year his something from me was…. a post it note! 😉

  2. I’m sort of on the “anti-Valentines” side. I don’t need a holiday to tell me to be romantic, I’d rather do it on my own terms!

    But hey, who would ever dare to complain about chocolate? 😀

    1. Complaining about chocolate, who ever heard of such a thing? I think of the holiday as a reminder, I guess. And if Paul doesn’t remember-I remind him! 😉

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

