Please, Sweetie Pie Can You Shut Up Now?

Like most gals I like to talk and sometimes I talk too much!

But, I have already wrote enough pathetic posts about my lack of social graces, so I won’t bore you with another one.

HEY WHO JUST SHOUTED, “It is about time?!”

Like, I said ,I can talk with the best of them, but I have recently met someone who beats me hands down.

She could win a place in the Guinness book of world records for nonstop talking.

The problem is, she is so sweet, that even though you want her to stop, you can’t bring yourself to say so!

Instead you just nod and hope she takes the hint that she never does!

I think, even if your head, in mid sentence ,was to hit the table with a big THUD she’d keep on talking while she bandaged your head and asked if fainting spells were something that ran in your family.

I’m trying to be patient and kind and considerate and all that crap, while being driven out of my senses!

Is it impolite to say, “Please, sweetie pie, I’d love to talk until my lips go numb, but  could you please, shut up now?

I am probably gonna have to  grin and bear it and start praying  that my short to the point answers  lead her to greener pastures where the talking never ends and is forever encouraged.

I’m not sure if that place exists outside of C-span.

She is a sweetie and I wouldn’t want to hurt her feelings, so I guess just gotta suck it up  and deal with it, and if that doesn’t work , I can always have a nervous breakdown and join her.

Anything driving you crazy that you’re not sure how to deal with? Do you talk a lot or a little? Are you the strong and silent type?

//

//

Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

18 thoughts on “Please, Sweetie Pie Can You Shut Up Now?

  1. I tend to be the silent type. Well, until you get me on a subject I’m passionate about. Then I’ll talk your ear off in a torrent of words that have built up during my long moments of silence. 🙂

    1. I am quiet until I get to know you and then all bets are off.
      If your passionate about something it is hard not to talk about it. Moments of silence can be good, it is easier to observe then, which is great for writing.

  2. I’m the silent type. I only talk when I have something to say. My husband, on the other hand, it quite the opposite. Talks continuously….to me, the cat, himself….at least I think it’s to himself, could be to me….I don’t know. 😀

    1. I am the most talkative in my very quiet family unit.
      My siblings on the other hand can talk your ears off! I miss it, actually.
      You never know,your husband may say something very important one day and you’ll miss it. 😉

  3. And they don’t even know they’re doing it, bless their hearts! I usually wait a moment, then look at my watch and say, “You know, I’d love to hear more about this later, but I really need to get this (whatever you’re doing) done.” Works about half the time! 🙂

  4. OK, here’s what you do, Rachael: have a button or a mug or a t-shirt printed up with the words “I’M TALKING AND I CAN’T SHUT UP!” and then give it to this sweet person as a GAG gift.

    As for me, most of the time I’m like a quiet peaceful calm day. The sun is shining, a gentle breeze is intermittently rustling the leaves, it’s so calm and quiet you can hear the distant buzzing of a honey bee. And then, every so often, usually without warning, I have a sudden THUNDERSTORM with huge downpours and great gusts of wind and pounding hail. I get on a roll and I talk and I talk and, bless my heart, I DO know what I am doing, but… but…. I Can’t Shut Up! At such times I really wish someone would just shoot me and put me out of everyone’s misery.

    It isn’t easy being me.

  5. I’m sure I talk too much. ADHD does that.

    That said, I know people who talk more and don’t get the hint. We’ve had people at work who when they find you, you silently pled for your phone to ring, a person to walk up, a loud explosion in the distance….perhaps not that far distant.

    WG

  6. Earplugs are your best friends. And yeah, I know the feeling… yikes, I can’t bear people who talk ‘at’ me – not realising I even exist. That said, I have occasional days when I get into this state myself. Usually when I’ve too little sleep and too much tea! I tend to be fairly quiet. I’m a chatterbox online, though – as long as I can type my talk!

    1. I’ll have to grow out my hair long to hide em’! All you can do is nod and wait for a break in the chatter and say,”Well, gee would you look at the time, gotta go!”
      Type your chatterings my way, I like it. 🙂

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

