It is Raining, it is Snowing, the Old Man is Swearing.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

I am one of the weirdos who actually likes living in Michigan, USA.

My husband thinks I’m nuts.

But, really,what’s not to love?

Forests, The Great Lakes, and our beautiful Mackinaw bridge.

And let’s not forget:record unemployment, never-ending road construction, and bizarre weather patterns!

Two days ago it was 50+ degrees outside (were talking heat wave for Michigan), yesterday came the snow and boy did it snow!

Today it is freezing rain and snow mixture.

Freezing rain, for those who live in places where the sun is always shinning, is sorta like ice crystal cement when it attaches itself to your car’s window shield.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

You can’t just scrape it off , you got to chip it off, the defrost setting on the car does help some, but, still it isn’t much fun freezing your hindquarters off as you chip away.

Every year when this stuff hits my husband seriously thinks about leaving the state.

A quite man, usually, but inclement weather always makes him grumpy.

In fact the only thing that makes him rave more is politics, so I have banned him from CNN.

I can’t ban him from bad weather, however, so the grumbling is about to begin and will last until the spring thaw.

Which in Michigan could be in June.( Slight exaggeration)

So what’s the weather like where you are? Do you get the winter grumpies?

Angry man 3d render. It`s no real man. Stock Photo - 786864

Not my husband, but pretty close to the look he gets when the weather is bad.

//

//

10 thoughts on “It is Raining, it is Snowing, the Old Man is Swearing.

  1. We’re in the 40s here in Ohio, but it’s rainy and cloudy, which is probably why I feel 100 years old today. I don’t miss the blizzards of North Dakota or Iowa–two of my former stomping grounds. We get snow here, but some winters it doesn’t last long. That’s the way I like it. :)

    • It has been mild the last two years in Michigan, think this winter is going to different,though. I don’t mind the snow ,it’s the bitter cold that I don’t like much.

  2. Brrrrrrrrrrrr. That’s how the weather is right now in New Mexico. It is so cold, I am writing this from bed, because I don’t want to get out from under the blankets.

    Last week the temperatures got up to the low 70s nearly every day. But a freezing cold front hit us yesterday, and last night I looked at our outdoor thermometer and it read 8. That’s EIGHT degrees Farenheit! Going from daily highs in the 70s to a low of 8 within a couple of days is a SHOCK to the system.

    When it gets this cold, our Cattle Dog, Lady-the-spoiled-rotten-Diva, refuses to go outside to do her potty business unless either my husband or I goes out with her. This cold wave hit us so unexpectedly that we are totally not prepared. I do not even know where our winter clothes are. Last night when it got down to 8 and I went outside with the Lady-Dog-Diva in my thin cotton pjs and open-backed house slippers and a light cotton sweater, I thought I was going to DIE. And frankly, I was hoping to hurry up and get the dying part over with, because I figure that when you are dead you don’t feel cold. Hopefully you don’t feel too hot, either, if you get my drift.

    Speaking of drift, it snowed last night. Which rarely happens in this part of NM. Our dog usually enjoys running and playing in snow, but not when it is 8 degrees F.

    I have lived in northern California, south-central Missouri, Houston Texas, coastal England, Chicago area, Virginia Beach, coastal Maine, Pennsylvania near the Amish countryside, and for most of the past decade, the high desert of New Mexico. My favorite place to live was England. It rained 6 days out of 7, but mostly it was a gentle misty rain, and the temps were mild. I had ocean views from my thatched-roof house on the rare day when the sun was shining. I also had a nanny and a gardner and a maid, and I was very popular with the locals because I had a foreign accent. It was a different experience, being a foreigner. It was especially strange when the local constabulary (C.O.P.) stopped by the house and informed me that I needed to register as an alien. I told him I was unaware of being an alien, although I have long had my suspicions, for reasons I will refrain from going into here.

    My second-favorite place to live is in the high desert mountainous country of New Mexico. It can get boiling hot in the summer and frigidly cold in the winter, but the landscape throughout most of this state is breathtakingly beautiful, and I love it on those super-low-humidity days when it rains and you see the rain falling only halfway down the sky and then it stops, because the humidity is so low the rain evaporates long before it hits the ground! You can walk under the rain on days like that and never feel a drop! Too cool.

    However, we will soon be saying farewell to dry New Mexico, as we are planning to move next year to the rainy west coast area to be near our first great-grandchild who is due to be born in two months. (Me, a great-grandma? OMG.)

  3. Well, here in mid Missouri, we do get the freezing rain but not until January. The temps here have been anywhere from 70 down to 40’s the last week or so. It jumps a lot until Winter is in full swing. I don’t get grumpy unless I have to drive in the snow and ice. I have lived in Missouri all my life (except for a short stint in the UK) and I’m used to the weather, I guess. But as I get older, the more I want to hibernate. I spent many years of my working life scraping car windows, chipping off the ice, and driving in bad weather, I’d prefer not to do it now. You might say, I have earned the right to hibernate. :)

    • Michigan if you don’t like the weather wait five minutes and it will probably change! You probably get a lot of drifting out there on the prairie? I love the way the ice looks on the pine trees, it is beautiful, but driving in the stuff ain’t fun!
      I agree you want to hibernate-go ahead you earned it!

  4. I like the change of seasons here in Michigan;there is always something to look forward to. I did, however, enjoy the weather in Santa Barbara, CA. In the winter, it was warm enough to go to the beach, 70 degrees one Christmas day. But if you wanted the snow, a little travel to the mountians and you were in a winter wonderland. When I retire, I’d like to spend the bitter cold season, usually Jan-March, either in Key West or Mexico. I love the fall and summer in good old Michigan!

    • I will live and die here, I hope, unless Paul has his way? Paul get his way-now that is funny! ;) I’m not a big beach type person, I love the woods and hills, rocks and rills, and the lakes! :)

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

