While I Am Being Me ,Can I try Being Someone Else?

I have been on a journey.

Nothing cool like a safari in Africa or trip around the world.

More of a personal journey of change.

Some days its easy, most days it is not.

I see things I don’t like  in myself and would love to, on certain days,  put my fingers in my ears singing: “LA ,LA, LA!” ,  at the top of my voice, when those flaws are pointed out.

I want to be me, but while I am doing that can I try and be somebody else?

I could be someone special!

Somebody confident, yet humble.

Witty all the time, always ready with a funny one liner, someone who never trips over her words.

Never sad, depressed, or disappointed.

Less jealous and only competitive in the best sense, instead of becoming peevish.

But, I can only continue to be the best me possible and to fix the faults I can see.

The problem with working on the flaws you can see, once they are under control, another one pops  up and says, “Hi, you didn’t see me did you?”

So, it is a never-ending battle for the imperfect people of the world like myself.

It is a battle that is well worth the effort.

So, I guess I keep fighting.

Never reaching perfection ,but never giving up, either.

So, are you working on some stuff? Have you reached perfection? If you have, how in the hell did you do it?

 

Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

14 thoughts on “While I Am Being Me ,Can I try Being Someone Else?

  1. Rachael, while it’s good to keep striving to be better, some days we need to just take a breath and say, “You know what? I’m pretty awesome. Go me.” 🙂 You are pretty awesome!

    1. Thanks! Do understand what you are saying and sometimes I just need to relax. But, I also believe in self-improvement and not settling for or accepting flaws that need fixing. It is the sorting them out that is the tricky part! 😉 Thanks for the stop by and you are quite awesome, yourself!

  2. I have to agree with Vikki. True, we should all strive to be a better person, but not beating ourselves up in the process is important. I’m sorry to tell you, no one is perfect. There is no such thing as perfect, in fact. I prefer to call it a journey of “self discovery”. Learning what we don’t like and are happy with. We all make changes over the years, you’re just growing into yourself. Hey, at least the knobby knees are gone. 🙂

    1. The perfection thing was a joke, guess that wasn’t executed the best! 🙂 Learning what you are happy with is indeed a great thing! Changing what you do not like is a life time process and I do believe in it. I never want to think that I’m so great there is no change needed.I want to accept the good and try my damnedest to change the bad.

  3. I met “O Stanislaus,” the man who is now my BFH, when we were both hired on the same day for the same job, and went through training together side-by-side. Several weeks later, he sat in my car after work and told me, for 6 straight hours, that he had fallen in love with me. Six hours! I was tired after working all day, I was hungry, I was thirsty, I was freezing cold, and I needed to go to the bathroom. But I couldn’t think of a way to make him shut up and go away without grossly hurting his obviously tender feelings. Plus, it was a little scary! I wasn’t used to 6-hour-long declarations of love. Six minutes was pretty much my limit, you kow?

    When I finally was able to get in a few words, I gently told him that I appreciated his feelings very much, because I liked and respected him both as a coworker and as a friend, I was immensely flattered, yada yada yada…. However, I carefully pointed out, he didn’t really know ME. He knew the “work me,” I said, the me with combed hair and eye makeup and clean and wrinkle-free clothes that covered up all the flab and stretch marks.

    “Oh, no,” protested my BFH-to-be, “I know the REAL you. I can see all your faults.”

    Faults. He can see my FAULTS? GrrrrrrrrRRRRRRRRRRRRRROAR! I could actually feel the steam coming out of my ears!

    But I remained PERFECTLY calm. “I. Do. Not. Have. Any. Faults,” I deadpanned.

    “N-no faults? B-b-but everybody has f-f-f-faults!” Stan stuttered.

    “Not Me,” I assured him.

    “Conceited, maybe?” he asked timidly.

    “Nope, I’m just very honest,” I replied. “Now, it’s been really nice chatting with you, but I need to be going. Dinner, bed, bathroom, ya’ know?”

    My Best-Friend-Hubby and I have been (mostly) very happily married now for 8 and a half years. 🙂

    ~The One and Only PERFECT Lady Quixote

    1. Well am glad someone figured out the perfection thing! 😉 He must of thought so, too, after all that he still pursude you!
      I am only perfect on the frist wendesday of every other leap year.

    1. I have added the words “A PARODY” to the title of my post, because I belatedly realized that people who don’t know me might think I’m serious about having no faults! The truth is that I am riddled with faults, of which I am all too PAINFULLY aware. I was only teasing Stan…. mainly because I was so TERRIFIED of getting into another potentially heart-breaking relationship, that I nervously made a silly joke to try to lighten the mood! But Stan thought I was serious, so I quickly told him I was kidding… I wish you could have seen the look of immense relief on his face when I told him that.

      So anyway, all I wanted was for Stan to be my friend. He respected that, like the gentleman he is, but he also didn’t give up hope that someday we could be more. I guess those 6 hours should have been a warning to me that he was tenacious! But now I thank God every day for my sweet best-friend-husband. He’s the best thing that ever happened to me, and I’m so lucky to be his wife. Who knew you could fall madly in love in your 50s?

      But then, I guess that isn’t so amazing. My aunt, whom I was talking with on the phone today, is so happy in her second marriage that you can hear it in her voice and see it all over her face. They’ve been together just 2 years now, and my aunt and her new husband are in their 70s!

  4. I am perfect to myself. I love my life, where I am, who I am with and what I am doing. My imperfections are only visible to others because they are jealous! (:

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

