Posted in Not so insane musings.

Turkey Day is Coming!

Did you know dear readers that Benjamin Franklin wanted the national bird for America to be the Turkey?

 And now we are fast approaching Turkey Day!

Better known as Thanksgiving!!

Who am I fooling?

Everyone calls it Turkey Day.

It is the national day of pigging out!

Only it is traditional to eat turkey not ham.

The day when we honor the pilgrims by commemorating a feast of thankfulness .

 thanksgiving pilgrims and indians with food gifts Stock Photo - 777579

It really doesn’t matter that our typical American feast does not compare at all to what the pilgrims probably had.

No one is going to tell us we can’t have our cranberry sauce and pumpkin pies!

After, stuffing ourselves with more stuff then we stuffed the Turkey with (that was a little redundant wasn’t it?) we, waddle in to the living room and watch football, well some do, some snooze and some try to do both!

one slice of pumpkin  pie removed from the whole and ready to eat Stock Photo - 12749864

I like Thanksgiving and not just for the food, I like that it is not about getting something, it is about being thankful and counting up the many blessings we have.

Not always so good at that, so Thanksgiving is a nice reminder.

I hope you and yours have a great Thanksgiving!

What type of food ,besides turkey, must grace your table for  this most traditional holiday dinner?

 

 

Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

7 thoughts on “Turkey Day is Coming!

  1. We’re very basic–turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, and gravy. Top it off with a veggie and dinner rolls. This year, I won’t be cooking as I’m going to my sister’s. That will be weird for me as I’m usually donning an apron this time of year. 🙂

    1. We are pretty traditional ourselves! I do like the fresh cranberry relish, so I always have that and pumpkin pie.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great Thanksgiving!

  2. We have both Turkey and ham. Greg is not a turkey fan. Green bean casserole, cranberry sauce, stuffing, acorn squash, yams, mashed potatoes, rolls(my fav), corn, gravy, and believe it or not, no dessert unless we have guests. I do not like pumpkin pie; mincemeat is my favorite. Greg doesn’t care much for dessert. This year, for the first time in 10 years, I won’t be cooking. Greg’s brother Sid and his girlfriend, Diane are hosting it at their house. Guess what we are in charge of bringing? You got it, dessert! I bought a pumpkin pie and a cheesecake. Can’t wait to see what they have for dinner! Happy Thanksgiving to all!

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

