Boringville!

Lunch Time - Sun Dial Stock Photo - 274291

I am not the most up to date person.

I rarely watch TV and when I do it is usual a period drama or PBS.

I use to watch The History Channel, but they took off all the History programs to give us such delights as Pawn Stars. –That is when I quit watching.

Sometimes I watch Animal Planet with my daughter we like Animal cops.

I am not up on the latest political crap, nor do I keep tabs on Hollywood gossip.

I like old music and could not tell you who the new artists are.

 A vintage portrait illustration Stock Photo - 15208694

I’m stuck-stuck in Boringville.

I need to branch out some, but I cannot think what limb to climb out on.

New music?  I should give it a whirl, I might like some of it, you never know.

Judging from the stuff coming from the radio, not holding out much hope it just sounds like noise.

OH MY FRIGGEN’ GOSH!  I JUST SOUNDED LIKE MY PARENTS!!!

When in the hell did this happen?

I gotta get out of this rut!!

I cannot sit still long enough to watch too much TV, that bores me, I’m afraid.

Why is it that I can sit through a 2 hour movie at the movie theater, but I cannot sit through a one hour program on TV?

Maybe it is the big screen, the ear shattering surround sound, or the popcorn that makes the difference.

 director movie clapper with popcorn and cola isolated on white Stock Photo - 10888406

 

Although, I do like movies and I do admire good acting I really do not care what star is dating what other star. Or who is in rehab or who got religion or whatever.

I try to be supportive of my husband and pretend to give a rip about the up and coming elections, but all  that I have seen so far is people that I would not care to elect for anything. (Sorry die-hard republicans and democrats)

I really should care about “being informed” it could give me some great comic material, another good reason for getting out of my rut.

So, any suggestions dear bloggers and dear blogger readers? How to you break out of a rut?

Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

10 thoughts on “Boringville!

  1. I’m just the opposite–I thrive on being informed, and I love a good political debate (though I keep it off my blog and other social media). And as for music, that’s one part of me that doesn’t seem to age. I love the new stuff and rarely listen to the oldies. As far as I’m concerned, most of the music from the 80’s is best left hidden (not all–there are some goodies out there 🙂 ) Good luck with your rut. Try something new. It might help bounce you out of it. 🙂

    1. I like The Beatles and 70’s folk rock the best. Agree with your 80’s assessment, but I like Phil Collins.
      I am working on getting out of the rut! 🙂

      1. Well, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t like to dance a little with some old Jackson 5 and Michael Jackson songs. There may be one or two of those on my playlists… 😉

      2. I realize there is good music from most eras, Just need to get myself out of the rut! Girls’ just want to have fun always makes me want to get up and dance! 😉

  2. Oh Rachael, I can’t help you because I’m the same way. It’s freaky how much alike we are on these matters. But I can suggest that you try all “limbs”, see which one suits you, which one draws you in. I did that for myself, some things I tried stuck, some didn’t. I don’t know about you, but part of my problem with 1 hour TV programs, there’s not enough intellectual stimulation. Like you, movies I can watch, the story line is more complex. And PBS….I love that channel. Masterpiece Theater….love it. 🙂

    1. Trying new things is probably the best way!- I know I won’t like it all.- But sounding like my parents scared me, you know? 🙂

  3. Yeah, I know. When I sound like my mom, it makes me cringe. BUT, at the same time, it comes to my awareness, it’s something that I can change. I loved my mom, but I didn’t want to be like her. I think we always strive to be better than our parents….especially the stuff we didn’t like. Don’t be scared, Rachael. You are not turning into your parents, because…..you don’t want to. 🙂

    1. I love my parents and my mom was actually pretty cool about music. She didn’t get “New Wave” that was just too much for her I am afraid ! 😉

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

