Posted in Not so insane musings.

Color me Charlie Brown.

Been feeling a little bit persnickety lately.

A little bit peevish.

A little bit Charlie Brownish.

Charlie Brown gave us such immortal quotes as this: “Sometimes I lie awake at night, and I ask, ‘Where have I gone wrong?’ Then a voice says to me, “This is going to take more than one night.”

And,

This is my depressed stance. When you’re depressed, it makes a lot of difference how you stand. The worst thing you can do is straighten up and hold your head high because then you’ll start to feel better. If you’re going to get any joy out of being depressed, you’ve got to stand like this.”

Like Charlie I can put myself down, lie awake worrying, and become depressed.

No one is very impressed with that behavior, but does that stop me?

Well, yeah it does, most days.

But at my Charlie Browniest, I want to enjoy the pity party.

 And that is a pity, because I never do get around to enjoying it.

And although, I like  Mr. Brown on the TV screen, I don’t want to be like him in real life.

Good Grief!

 So, sorry, Charlie!

We gotta part company!

Are you ever in a funk? How do you get yourself out of it?

Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

6 thoughts on “Color me Charlie Brown.

  1. When I’m in a funk, I try to remember everything I have and how where I am now is much better than where I’ve been before. This usually smacks the self-pity from me. But we’re all allowed some wallows every now and then, especially those who have real reasons to be hurting. My heart goes out to them. Their big problems definitely help put my little ones into perspective.

    1. I think of myself as a work in progress and that helps to leave self-pity behind!
      Thank you, as always, for your encouragement it is always appreciated!

  2. When I am in a funk, it is usually involves me missing my youth. This is my routine: I am mad, at first, and start cabbing at the nearest person, unfortunately it is usually Greg. Then when he ignores me or tells me to knock it off, I find something to eat, usually candy or chips. When that doesn’t statisfy me, I let my mind wander back to younger days, the fear of old age overwhelms me, I panic and then I cry. Then I realize how very lucky I am, how far I have come, that my life isn’t over yet and that I am not THAT old. I pick myself up and tell the Grim Reaper he can wait a few years…(:

    1. Yes, that grim reaper can wait many many many many many years!
      Chocolate is my thing and coke zero, always hoping the zero in the coke cancels out the calories in the candy bar. Hasn’t work out that way so far! 😦
      Writing is my therapy!!
      I am proud of your accomplishments big sister hang in there!

  3. I go into the depths of depression from time to time, but not as badly as I used to in childhood or my early adultood so I can always look back and realise that I came out of that state before, so can do it again. It just takes waiting, and forgiveness of oneself for being human and imperfect.

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

