So, how do you write?

illustration of fountain pen nib Stock Photo - 11127036

I have to admit  it – I just sit down and write, at least for the blog.

I get an idea and I go with it, baby! ( Sorry, I desperately want to be “cool” but it keeps eluding me!)

That is right, no pre-writing .

I do jot down notes for remembering funny bits later, but I admit  I am not much of a disciplined writer at this point.

Something strikes my fancy and I write it  down and occasionally  I do a little research.

The most scholarly thing I do is check facts in the rare times when it is needed on this silly little blog.

Unlike most people, I am not working on a novel, just blogging.

I do occasionally write down notes for a story, but I am a bit of a flibbertigibbet and end up bouncing from idea to idea.

So, help a gal out, will ya? How do you write? What strategies work best for you? How do you keep yourself organized and on target? What processes do you use?

I could ask more questions, but am probably boring you by now.

Illustration of a Bored Smiley Stock Photo - 13131963

Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

8 thoughts on “So, how do you write?

  1. For my blog, I have scraps of paper all over my desk with potential ideas for posts. Why I don’t organize all of these into a word document, I don’t know. But the system is working, so I’ll stick with it.

    For my novel writing I am much more organized and use Scrivener which is a great tool for fiction writers.

    And now my secrets are out…

      1. At least you use index card, which carry some modicum of respect. I have sticky notes all over. And they’re leaving their sticky film on my desk. I’m not role-modeling well for my sons. 🙂

      2. The index cards are not in anyway organized and only I can decipher them, at least most of the time I can! 😉

  2. I’m not so organized. I do some research on “terminology” in writing about disorders, etc., but, basically, I have a idea and just go with it. The same with my autobiography. Several authors advised me to “just write, and get on with it”. That’s exactly what I’ve been doing. I get bogged down in detail, because I’m a detail oriented person. I feel insecure without structure. So this has been freeing for me. I think everyone has a writing method that works for them. Go with what works for you, Rachael.

    1. Thanks for the input! I read about all the different ways you should write and become easily confused! 😉
      Thanks so much for stopping by!

  3. I used to sit down for like 10 minutes and do an exercise of thinking up possible topics to write on, later I would return to the list of topics to see whether I have any material to write under them.
    My writing for now is mostly inspired by things that happen at work, so I do get a bit of material there. I also read other people’s works with the sole aim of getting inspiration or improving my writing – sometimes, a line just jumps at me and I run to my jotter. I also try to follow trends e.g on twitter and may get some inspiration there.

    1. Some great ideas! I may try the list thing sounds like something I could commit to.
      I have been reading some of your blog posts and find them quite interesting!
      Thanks so much for stopping by! It is most appreciated!

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

