Posted in Not so insane musings.

Recognition.

Recognition, let’s face it fellow bloggers,  we all want it – if we didn’t want it we wouldn’t be writing publicly.

I get ridiculously happy when it is given and pathetically sad when it is denied.

Why?

 Well, I have asked myself that many times and am not any closer to an answer.

A reply left for one of my posts  satisfies me like nothing else can.

It is the validation, I suppose.

It feels like a warm hug and a cup of cocoa all rolled into one.

Obvious cliche’ ?

Ridiculous?

Over simplified?

Perhaps.

When there is no recognition it feels like my favorite  snuggle blanket is still in the dryer and the dryer is broken.

Silly?

Pathetic?

Sad?

Possibly.

I would love to be noble.

I would love to say that only the writing itself matters.

I would love to say recognition doesn’t matter one wit.

But, that would be a lie.

And although, as a writer, I have greatly exaggerated at times and ..well..okay, lied a few times, too….my reflective moments must remain pure.

 So,would I continue to  write without any recognition?

Yes, I have to, it is not a choice-but it would be very lonely indeed without the recognition.

So, fellow bloggers and writers where do you stand?

I would love to hear your thoughts.

Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

12 thoughts on “Recognition.

    1. I bombard Twittter with links! 🙂 It takes awhile to build up any kind of following.
      This was meant as a reflective piece and not necessarily a complaint, I leave that for the pouty lip posts.
      Thanks for stopping by and keep writing.

  1. Here’s more recognition for you. 🙂

    I suppose we all want people to read what we write, otherwise why would we blog? But maybe the reasons are different for all of us. Some just enjoy the process; others use it as a marketing tool; others use it to inform. But we can’t take lack of recognition personally. There is just so much out there to read on the Internet, and we are each only a small cog in the wheel. 🙂

    1. Yes, you are right. I always fight my personality battles publicly- a mistake? Perhaps.
      It is cheaper than therapy.
      I don’t mean to come across as ungrateful, because I am for any and all recognition. 🙂
      And everyone has their own reasons for writing.
      I would write without it…and I will keep fighting my tendencies to take things a little too personally and then I will have to find something else to blog about! 😉
      Thanks for stopping by!

      1. Good! I never am sure how I come across. I try real hard! 🙂
        Have a mentioned I am so grateful you have returned to Blogosphere and Twitterworld! 🙂

      2. You are sweet. But I’m still a lame Twitterer. I try to post at least one tweet a day; maybe a retweet or two; and give a quick perusal to my lists. But since I tend to do this at the same time each day, I think I miss a lot of people’s tweets, because they don’t show up in my current timeline. I guess I need to start checking in at night, too. So little time…

      3. You do fine!- We all miss a few tweets-sometimes on purpose! 😉
        I have the time, but I find it impossible to think of that many witty things to say to justify being on Twitter all day.
        And you gotta clean the house and pay attention to family, sometimes.

  2. Agreed! I love the writing process, but it kind of sucks to do humour writing if nobody’s out there to read it. The point is making people laugh (for me), so if there are no people, there are no laughs – that’s right, I’m the master of logical reasoning!

    I can always sit and laugh at my own jokes, but that’s how I got committed that one time…can’t recommend it.

    Comments are awesome, so enjoy this one on the house 😉

    1. I am glad you agreed to agree with me! 😉 It is too late for me ,I have official lost it, and laugh at my own jokes and even..I am ashamed… my own tweets.(Somebody got laugh at them!)
      Is it only me or do you, too go back a reread your comments on other people’s blogs and laugh? Please tell me I’m Not the only one! Please, even if it isn’t true.

      I always enjoy your comments! So,thanks for the freebie!

      1. I never re-read anything. Ever. My posts are automatically immaculate and require no proofreading. In fact, I never even read the same word twice. If I see a word that looks like a word I may have read before I just skip it…

        Also, I lie a lot.

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

