Posted in The insane rants

Mixed up proverbs.

Motivational quotes,metaphors,cliches, and proverbs; all have come under attack by writing critics who lament their overuse.

Striving to be original is not so easy as  almost everyone “steals” ideas in one way or another. 

What we read influences  us in the way we think  and how we write.

Now , before you go away saying, “Gee, thanks for the sermon, gotta go…”

This posting is not going to dwell on much of what I stated above it is just an intro to the fact that I am about to post some proverbs.

But, because I am demented, silly , and just have way too much time on my hands….. they will be mixed up proverbs.

 And with that-here we go….

1.Don’t count your chickens before you have all your ducks in a row.

2.You can lead a horse to water, but you can not teach an old dog new tricks.

3. When one door shuts fools rush in.

4. A friend in need is a friend to none.

5. If you can’t beat them let sleeping dogs lay.

6. You scratch my back and ask me no questions.

7. Once bitten talk is cheap.

8. Curiosity killed the boys who would be boys.

9. Don’t put all your eggs in the cart before looking a gift horse in the mouth.

10.Two wrongs do not make two heads better than one.

Okay how about you? Want to try mixing it up a little?

I would love to hear what you can come up with, because I am  kind of silly that way.

Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

25 thoughts on “Mixed up proverbs.

  1. My fav is don’t put all your eggs in the cart before looking a gift horse in the mouth.
    Some other ones might be:

    A bird in the hand catches the worm.
    Out of the frying pan and into the smoke filled room
    A stitch in time gathers no moss

  2. Don’t taken any wooden birds in the hand.
    Two in the bush is worth a plug nickle.
    Stop and smell the ace in the hole.
    It is better to give than watch a pot boil.

    All I have for now!
    Love you

  3. Look before you earn a penny.
    A penny saved is worth it’s weight in gold.
    Look both ways before the cows come home.
    Walk softly when pigs fly.
    Silence is the cart before the horse.
    Keep your eye on what you sow.

    hehe

    1. Well, having completed one year of college including an introduction to psychology class I can confidently say, “I don’t know.”

      1. Now that’s the kind of confidence I can get behind!

        (I don’t know for sure what I just said, that’s like something my teenage granddaughters would say. I’m trying to sound like a young, hip, great-grandma.)

      2. I keep trying to sound like I know what the heck in going on, but my son usually finds out the truth. I have no idea what is going on.

      3. Probably we’re better off not knowing what’s going on. Before I pulled the plug on facebook, I was learning way more than I ever wanted to know about the sex lives of my teenage relatives. Who aren’t even supposed to be doing that stuff in the first place, let alone telling the world about it on facebook. (shudder)

  4. I mixed a couple of sayings up yesterday–“He looks like Hell warmed over”.
    My daughter’s friend is famous for this–“Don’t count your chickens in one basket” and “You’re preaching to the kettle.”

  5. Never look a gift horse in the bush.
    People who live in glass houses should not throw sour grapes.
    Better a stone in hand than two in the air.
    If anyone forces you to go one mile, go until the cows come home.
    That guy is more nervous than a long-tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs.

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

