Sensible?

Today, on Twitter, someone called me sensible,  it was meant as a compliment and I took it as such.

But, I started thinking that at 44 sensible sounds old- like in sensible shoes.

The heels I recently bought would not qualify.

Ugly..but sensible.

When I was growing up I would have swapped my two front teeth to be thought of as sensible.

Mostly  because I was always being chided for being foolish, so sensible would have been a step up.

Now, sensible seems old.

Like you have to be sensible and eat all your vegetables

Like it is time to put away the old rock and roll CD’s and exchange them for Bach and Mozart.

I do like Bach and Mozart, so no hate mail from classical lovers, okay?

Like you have to retire to the porch, rocking in the old wicker rocking chair, and watching all the young people go by.

Now, just you sit down before you hurt yourself dearie.

Like it is time to put the dancing shoes up and settle down.

Time to act your age and all that kind of sensible stuffy old fuddy stuff!

I do not want to be sensible!

I do not want to settle down and act my age!

Like Steve Martin in the Father of the Bride 2- I am still young and I can prove it!

I hope I always have a young heart.

I hope to boogie into my late 70’s.

I hope I never settle down so much that I am  ever thought of as being too sensible to act silly.

Dancing like no one is watching!
Author:

I am me and nobody else. One of a kind just like the rest of the world.

4 thoughts on “Sensible?

Got something nice to say, witty, silly, profound, demented, redundant or redundant? Go ahead make my day!

